What hardware for mining?

• Im new to Burst so help me out here. I realize hard drives are needed but what specs? Are SSD better? 7200rpm? 5400rpm? cache size make a difference?

What about scaling? I see posts about CPU mining vs GPU in that GPU is faster, is there an optimal setup? ie, CPU mining (plotting?) is fine for less than XXTB and more than that you need GPU?

What GPUs ar useful? I have some older 5850's laying around still - would they be of any use or should I use something newer like a 480?

Sorry for the newb questions. I started messing with Burst when it first came out but reformatted my system and never reinstalled the wallet. Im considering hedging my mining efforts a bit and trying to tap into multiple mining algros at once.

• admin

@AmDD Only thing that matters for drives is capacity ... no big benefit using SSD. Speed is a factor, as you need to read out your drives in blocktime and even on fast blocks, but also a 5400rpm can easy handle that ... only 0,025% of data is read per round.

GPU can become useful, once your CPU is at 100% while mining (some calculations needed for finding deadlines)... should only happen at above 20TB-40TB for mainstream CPU. Once you use GPU even a old one could be enough ... here are some old stats from my testings ...

PC-1: 85TB plots:
    ~80sec with CPU (12 cores [email protected]) bottleneck: CPU
    ~16sec with GPU ([email protected]~50%) bottleneck: HDD read speed

PC-2: 56TB plots:
    ~70sec with CPU (8 cores [email protected]) bottleneck: CPU
    ~24sec with GPU (amd HD [email protected]~50%) bottleneck: HDD read speed
    ~48sec with GPU (amd HD [email protected]~100%) bottleneck: GPU

Stats above are from before we had optimized AVX SSE etc. CPU miners ... and may be different now ...

Source: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1170987.msg12329106#msg12329106