A few questions from a brand new soon-to-be miner!

• Hello,
    I am brand new to this type of community. I have not participated in any type of cryptocurrency actually.
    I think I partially understand the basics, but I still have lots to learn.

Currently, this laptop I have has 825GB of free space. If I start to mine, will this space be taken up and decrease? Also is that enough space to start and will mining have any downsides that hurt my computer?

What are the first software programs I need to install to get going?

I heard that 'pooling' is the best way for individuals to earn profit. How do I know what pool suits me best and how do I join one?

Thank you so much if you spent the time to read and answer the few questions I asked.
    -T1

• HI and welcome,

the you can decide the quantity of your free space to dedicate for mining, could be the full 825GB or less, it is up to you when you will start the plotting procedure.

The first software I guess is the wallet (you can use the online version as well), but is you are on windows the client should have everything build in to let you start mining with no problems. Check here for more infos:
    https://forums.burst-team.us/topic/165/videos-step-by-step-video-guides-how-to-mine-burstcoins

About the pool, there are many try to check here:
    https://forums.burst-team.us/topic/1109/list-of-all-pools-overview

• @ccminer Ok, so I can choose the amount of space to dedicate, but will the space become unusable when I start mining?

• @T1222 It will be occupied, if you want to free it later you will have to delete your plot file

• yes the space you decide becomes filled with a file called a plot file

to be honest the more space the better

if your laptop has usb 3.0 i would purchase a external hard drive and use that

• @ccminer What is a plot file? And what will happen when I delete it?
    Thanks for replying btw