I reformated and changed stagger size. Results tommorow after plot!

• Hey. I asked around a bit and did some research and from what I gathered and people tend to agree on is that stagger size can affect your mining read time, something ive been having issues with. I have a 3tb drive that was originaly plotted with a 2048 stagger. It would take 50 seconds to read my plots every round at 14 mb/s with usb 3.0, and I asked around and no one could come up with a solution and agreed that speed seemed slow. So i decided to experiment and changes my stagger from 2048 to 49,152. My rig has 16gb total and with windows and a bit of wiggle room i settled on 12gb of ram for my stagger size number (im not a expert I hope this is right thou windows task manager shows the program using 13.16gb ram?!?!) As 4096 stagger is 1gb ram i believe. Im hoping this will help me in the long run as i get more drives and I will also try optimizing later on aswell. Plotting has 14 hours left.... 13.2k nonces per minute.... was 16k I guess larger stagger affects plot speed? Thanks and appreiate any info as im new to all this and as far as i know i might of just wasted my time! But If i try now and it helps might save me down the road. And with your input ill learn more!

• Larger stagger should read faster, if only because there are fewer seek operations on the disk. Ideally you could run an optimizer program (dcct tools etc) on the plot to do that for you. But you'll need enough free space for both the original and the optimized plot.

If you use too much ram in the plotting process or optimization process you can run out of RAM and force the computer to use swap space instead, which can slow things down a LOT.

Just something to keep in mind.

My process if I had one 3TB and a random amount of space on another disk:

1. Plot to random space as much as you can fit.
    2. Optimize the plot to the 3TB drive.
    3. repeat until the drive is full.