Newbie Questions - Delete Plots / Best Practice

• Hi All, Im new to Burst coin only just discovered it today but want to get involved. First I want to test it on my 4TB drive but only allocate like 2TB for plotting, then if all goes well I want to move / start plotting on my external drives I have.

My questions are:

1. Will I be able to delete plot folder and get space back or do I need to format the drive?

2. When It comes to mining does the cache speed of the HDD come in to affect? Such as will a external hard drive be up to the challenge compared to a internal drive?

Thanks in advance

• @RecoStar Welcome to Burst?!

1. Yes you can delete and replot as much as you want...
    2. I think cache speed won't affect that much, but i'm no expert in this... External drives will work just fine, if they are USB 3.0 will be perfect xD

• @gpedro Thanks for your swift reply mate 🙂

Will get started now then 😃

• @RecoStar No welcome... Good luck with mining?!

• Ok I started to plot last night, set it to 1TB and 12 cores. It maxed out my CPU usage and my cores started to get extremely hot (Been a hot few days in the UK, yesterday was roasting! lol) so I CTRL+C then exit the prompt, but the wallet seemed to still think it was running. Closed wallet then re-opened it, so find the wallet must still think its plotting as its maxing out my CPU and my temps are getting really high...

Any ideas?

Thanks

• admin

@RecoStar Do you use the Win Client?

In general Win Client or Core Version: The Blockchain gets downloaded and verified the first hours. This also takes 100% CPU for a couple of hours - but only one time. If you plot in parallel I guess the Blockchain verification slows down and will be done after plotting.

• @daWallet Thanks for the reply. I use the windows client yes, but online mode. Its just my temp I am worried about as started to hit 90 degree's which I have never seen my CPU do, just dont want to run it for hours at 90 degree's as that will damage my CPU.