Which GPU for Burst mining

• Hi all,
    currently I am mining with my CPU 4 cores (Intel Quad Core Processor J3455) 35 TB. This takes up to 60 secs. I would like to speed this up with a low budget GPU. Zotac GeForce GT 710 PCIe x1, 1GB cost about 50 € is this enough to speed up the read times? Or which low cost GPU can you recommend?

• I would recommend a Radeon GPU. I don't know what it is about them, probably their memory transfer speeds, but they are much faster than nvidia cards. I'm not too sure what your budget is either, but check out some of those cards.

• Ok thanks for the hint. Maybe ASUS Radeon R5 230, R5230-SL-2GD3-L, 2GB DDR3 cost around 40 €. But I have no experience with gpu mining in burstcoin. Is this better as my CPU?

• admin

@ciscler The optimal card in my opinion is a 7950/7970 or R9-280X

• But they are inefficient and consume a lot of power. I need a low budget solution.

• @ciscler
    The GPU will be busy for approx. 10 seconds every 4 minutes.
    The R9-280X idle draw is not too bad.

You may mine Ether on the side, and quite fast regarding their used price. 8)

• But is there a smaller GPU which might be as fast as an 8 core I7?

• @ciscler GPUs and CPUs are structured very differently, and can't be compared by speed like that. GPUs do parallel computing, and CPUs can only compute in parallel with the number of threads they have, 16 in your 8 core i7. You will have to do your own research on this. What exactly is your budget? Power draw and initial cost?

• @kev626 I would like to spend arround 50-100€ on the GPU and it should have a TDP from max. 50 watt.

• I was searching for weeks for the optimal GPU and decided to use a RX460 4G. Costs around 100-150€. Power consumotion around 50W under load. Pretty fast to plot, able to read your disks fast and you can mine other coins while you are mining Burst.

• @FireRooster said in Which GPU for Burst mining:

RX460 4G

Thanks @FireRooster I will have a look at it.